Ingredients 5, 10, 11 and 14 of 23
African Mango, Coleus, Capsicum and Raspberry Ketones in Olivaro: 4 Weight-Claim Ingredients, Checked
Olivaro's blend lists four ingredients often sold for weight: African mango, coleus forskohlii, capsicum and raspberry ketones. NIH rates the evidence for all four as weak or absent (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss). Their amounts are not printed, and each sits inside a 200 mg blend shared by 22 ingredients. None of them should be expected to cause weight loss.
Written by the Olivaro research deskUpdated
Four ingredients
Which Olivaro ingredients are sold for weight?
Four of the 22 blend ingredients are best known from weight-loss products. The sales page describes Olivaro as "nutritional support for glucose metabolism, metabolic health, and weight management."
We checked each one against the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements weight-loss fact sheet (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss). The table starts with label order, because order sets the most each one can weigh (21 CFR 101.36 (eCFR)).
| Ingredient | Blend position | Ceiling per day (2 mL) | Research dose per day | NIH verdict |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| African mango seed | 4 of 22 | 100 mg | 300 mg | Limited evidence |
| Coleus forskohlii root | 9 of 22 | about 44 mg | 500 mg (10% forskolin) | No weight effect in 3 small trials |
| Capsicum fruit | 10 of 22 | 40 mg of extract | 2-4 mg capsaicin | No significant change at 12 weeks |
| Raspberry ketones | 13 of 22 | about 31 mg | Only tested in mixtures | No human evidence alone |
Ceiling = 200 mg divided by blend position, times 2 droppers. Real amounts are not published and are likely lower. Capsaicin content of the capsicum extract is not stated.
Profiles
What does the label say about each one?
Only the name and the order. Each profile adds the research dose and main caution.
| Label name | African Mango (Irvingia gabonensis) Seed Extract |
|---|---|
| What it is | Irvingia gabonensis seed |
| Position on the label | 4 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | 150 mg twice a day (300 mg) |
| Strength of evidence | Weak, small trials |
| Marketed or traditional use | Sold for weight management |
| Main caution | Gas, headache, sleep problems; caution with diabetes drugs. |
| Label name | Coleus Forskohlii Root Extract |
|---|---|
| What it is | Plectranthus barbatus root (forskolin) |
| Position on the label | 9 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | 500 mg a day of 10% forskolin extract |
| Strength of evidence | No weight effect in small trials |
| Marketed or traditional use | Sold for weight loss |
| Main caution | Can lower blood pressure; bleeding risk with blood thinners. |
| Label name | Capsicum Annuum Fruit Extract |
|---|---|
| What it is | Chili pepper (capsaicin) |
| Position on the label | 10 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | 2-4 mg capsaicin a day |
| Strength of evidence | No significant weight change |
| Marketed or traditional use | Sold for metabolism |
| Main caution | Stomach irritation; cough with ACE inhibitors. |
| Label name | Raspberry Ketones |
|---|---|
| What it is | Synthetic or raspberry-derived compound |
| Position on the label | 13 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | Only tested in combination products |
| Strength of evidence | No human evidence alone |
| Marketed or traditional use | Sold for weight loss |
| Main caution | Safety not established. |
African mango
Does African mango help with weight?
The evidence is weak. Most studies were small and poorly run, and human data on blood sugar are limited (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)).
The trial NIH describes gave 150 mg before lunch and dinner, 300 mg a day, for 10 weeks (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss). African mango is 4th in Olivaro's blend, so it is one of the larger possible shares. Even so, its ceiling of 100 mg a day is a third of that dose.
- Side effects reported: gas, headache, trouble sleeping.
- Rare but serious: one case of kidney failure needing dialysis (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)).
- Diabetes medicines: a possible added glucose-lowering effect, shown in rats.
Coleus forskohlii
Does forskolin from coleus burn fat?
Trials do not show it. At 500 mg a day of a 10% forskolin extract, three small trials found no effect on body weight (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss).
Clinical studies that prove forskolin is safe and effective are lacking (MSKCC, Forskolin (Coleus forskohlii)). Its known effects run toward the heart and blood vessels: low blood pressure, a slow heart rate and diarrhea. It may add to blood pressure medicines and raise bleeding risk with warfarin and other blood thinners.
Coleus is 9th of 22, with a ceiling near 22 mg per mL. The label does not say what percent forskolin the extract holds.
Capsicum
Can capsicum speed up metabolism?
Only a little, if at all. Capsaicin at 2 to 4 mg a day did not change weight significantly over 12 weeks (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss).
Capsaicin is the compound that makes chili peppers hot. MSK describes its effects on weight and appetite as small, and a possible insulin effect rests on one small study (MSKCC, Cayenne (Capsicum)).
Stomach irritation is the most common complaint. Capsicum may worsen the dry cough some people get on ACE-inhibitor blood pressure pills (MSKCC, Cayenne (Capsicum)).

Order Olivaro from the official checkout$49 to $79 a bottle · 60-day refund window · 3+ bottles ship free
Order nowRaspberry ketones
Do raspberry ketones work?
There is no human evidence that they do on their own. The only human studies tested mixtures of ingredients, so no effect can be pinned on raspberry ketone (OPSS (DoD), Raspberry Ketone).
Most research is in animals and cells. Single-ingredient products hold 100 to 1,400 mg, and safety at those amounts is not established. Olivaro's share is unknown and capped near 15 mg per mL by its 13th place.
Claims
Why do "weight management" claims need care?
Because the bar for proof is high and the category has a poor record. The FTC expects health claims to rest on randomized human trials of the same product, at the same dose, in the same kind of people (FTC, Health Products Compliance Guidance).
No trial of Olivaro
No study of the full formula has been published, so its effect on weight is unknown.
Weak single-ingredient data
All four herbs above fall short even at their own research doses.
Hidden drugs in the category
Of 776 supplements found with hidden drug ingredients, 40.9% were sold for weight loss (Tucker et al., JAMA Netw Open 2018).
What does have strong evidence is lifestyle change. In the Diabetes Prevention Program, aiming for 7% weight loss and 150 minutes of activity a week cut type 2 diabetes risk by 58% (NIDDK, Diabetes Prevention Program). Talk to your doctor before you change any diabetes medicine, including when weight changes.

Bottom line
Our read on the weight-claim herbs
Four ingredients, four weak or missing evidence files, four undisclosed amounts. African mango has the best case and the largest possible share. Treat the "weight management" wording as positioning, not a promise. Our full Olivaro review weighs the whole formula.
Next ingredient
Which ingredients add caffeine?
Guarana and green tea, covered next. See all 23 on the Olivaro ingredients overview.
FAQ
Weight-claim herbs in Olivaro: common questions
Does Olivaro help you lose weight?
No study shows that it does. The sales page positions Olivaro for weight management, but no trial of the product exists. Its four weight-linked ingredients have weak or no evidence, and their amounts are hidden inside a 200 mg blend shared by 22 ingredients.
Does African mango really work for weight loss?
The evidence is weak. NIH describes a small 10-week trial at 150 mg twice a day, and MSK says most studies were small with poor methods. Olivaro's African mango share is undisclosed and capped at 100 mg a day by label order.
Is coleus forskohlii safe?
Safety has not been well studied. Forskolin can cause low blood pressure, a slow heart rate and diarrhea. It may add to blood pressure medicines and raise bleeding risk with warfarin. Ask your doctor first if you take either kind of drug.
Are raspberry ketones safe to take?
No one has shown that they are. Human studies only tested raspberry ketone inside mixtures, and most research is in animals. Safety at supplement doses of 100 to 1,400 mg is not established. Olivaro's share is unknown and likely much smaller.
Does capsicum extract boost metabolism?
Any effect seems small. In studies, 2 to 4 mg of capsaicin a day did not significantly change weight over 12 weeks. Capsicum can irritate the stomach and may worsen cough with ACE inhibitors. Olivaro does not list its capsaicin content.
Why are weight-loss supplements risky?
They are a common place for hidden drugs. An analysis of FDA data found 776 supplements with unapproved drug ingredients from 2007 to 2016, and about 41% were weight-loss products. Buy from known sellers and tell your doctor what you take.
What actually helps with weight and blood sugar?
Lifestyle change has the strongest record. In the Diabetes Prevention Program, a goal of 7% weight loss plus 150 minutes of weekly activity cut type 2 diabetes risk by 58%. Ask your doctor about the CDC lifestyle change program.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
We start from the bottle label, then check every claim against government and peer-reviewed sources linked on the page.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by an authorized U.S. retailer, not by the manufacturer. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Olivaro
U.S. authorized Olivaro retailer
Ready to try Olivaro?
Choose 2, 3 or 6 bottles. At one dropper daily, even the smallest pack outlasts the 30-day use period required before a refund claim.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day money-back
- Ships from the U.S.



