Ingredient file 8 of 8
The 8 Amino Acids in Olivaro: Milligrams on the Label, Grams in the Research
Olivaro lists 8 amino acids in the lower half of its 200 mg blend, from L-glutamine (14th) to L-carnitine (22nd). Label order caps each one at about 9 to 14 mg per mL. Studies of carnitine, arginine and beta-alanine used 1.6 to 20 grams a day (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance)(NIH ODS, Carnitine). L-tryptophan needs care with serotonin drugs (Drugs.com, L-tryptophan).
Written by the Olivaro research deskUpdated
The list
Which amino acids are in Olivaro, and how much can each hold?
Eight amino acids fill places 14 to 22 of the blend. Coming last, each one is small.
A blend lists ingredients from heaviest to lightest (21 CFR 101.36 (eCFR)), so place N weighs at most 200 / N mg per mL.
| Amino acid | Place | Most per day (2 droppers) | Research per day |
|---|---|---|---|
| L-glutamine | 14th | about 29 mg | about 15-45 g (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance) |
| L-tyrosine | 15th | about 27 mg | No verified source |
| L-arginine | 16th | 25 mg | 2-20 g (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance) |
| Beta-alanine | 17th | about 24 mg | 1.6-6.4 g (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance) |
| GABA | 19th | about 21 mg | No verified source |
| L-ornithine | 20th | 20 mg | No verified source |
| L-tryptophan | 21st | about 19 mg | No blood sugar dose |
| L-carnitine | 22nd | about 18 mg | 2-3 g (NIH ODS, Carnitine) |
Place 18 is the licorice compound, on the licorice and grapefruit page.
The gap
How far short of research doses are they?
68 to more than 500 times, even at the caps. Carnitine studies used at least 2,000 mg a day; 2 droppers hold about 18 mg at most. Gram doses cannot fit in a 400 mg daily blend. See Olivaro dosage for the dropper math.
L-tryptophan
Is the L-tryptophan in Olivaro safe with antidepressants?
Ask first. Drugs.com advises against using L-tryptophan without medical advice alongside MAO inhibitors, tramadol, dextromethorphan, meperidine or sedatives (Drugs.com, L-tryptophan). The same goes for other serotonin-raising supplements such as 5-HTP and St. John's wort.
Olivaro's share is capped near 9.5 mg per mL, but no source sets a safe floor with serotonin drugs.
In 1989 an outbreak of eosinophilia-myalgia syndrome was linked to L-tryptophan supplements. More than 1,500 people were affected and 37 deaths were attributed to it. FDA issued a recall that November, and nearly all cases traced to one maker's products (NORD, Eosinophilia-Myalgia Syndrome).
L-arginine
Does L-arginine affect blood pressure?
It can lower it, and may add to blood pressure drugs (MSKCC, Arginine). NIH saw slightly lower pressure at 9 to 30 g a day (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance).
- After a heart attack: arginine may raise the risk of death in people after an acute heart attack (MSKCC, Arginine).
- In Olivaro: at most 25 mg a day, far below the doses tied to these effects.

Order Olivaro from the official checkout$49 to $79 a bottle · 60-day refund window · 3+ bottles ship free
Order nowL-carnitine
What did carnitine studies find for blood sugar?
Some improvement in fasting glucose, at 2 to 3 g a day, in type 2 diabetes studies. NIH says larger trials are needed (NIH ODS, Carnitine).
Your body makes its own carnitine, and healthy people generally do not need more (NIH ODS, Carnitine). Near 3 g a day it can cause nausea and a fishy odor.
Carnitine is last on the label, so it is the smallest share or tied for it. A 6-bottle supply at 2 droppers a day holds at most about 1.6 g of carnitine in total, less than one study day.

The other four
What about glutamine, beta-alanine, GABA, tyrosine and ornithine?
Two have research, not for blood sugar. Three have no verified source.
- L-glutamine: sports studies used about 15 to 45 g a day, and research does not support it for performance (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance).
- Beta-alanine: studied at 1.6 to 6.4 g a day; single doses of 800 mg or more cause harmless tingling, unlikely here (NIH ODS, Exercise & Athletic Performance).
- GABA, L-tyrosine, L-ornithine: no reliable dose or safety data was found for them at this amount.
Talk to your doctor before you change any diabetes medicine. Our Olivaro safety guide covers the full formula.
Profiles
All 8 amino acids: profile tables
One table each, in label order. All 23 are on the Olivaro ingredients overview.
| Label name | L-Glutamine |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid |
| Position on the label | 14 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | About 15-45 g a day (sports studies) |
| Strength of evidence | Not supported for performance |
| Marketed or traditional use | Amino acid |
| Main caution | Generally well tolerated in studied doses. |
| Label name | L-Tyrosine |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid |
| Position on the label | 15 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | No verified dose source |
| Strength of evidence | Not established |
| Marketed or traditional use | Amino acid |
| Main caution | No verified safety source found; ask your doctor if you take thyroid or MAOI drugs. |
| Label name | L-Arginine Base |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid |
| Position on the label | 16 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | 2-20 g a day (sports studies) |
| Strength of evidence | Little or no performance benefit |
| Marketed or traditional use | Amino acid |
| Main caution | Can lower blood pressure. |
| Label name | Beta-Alanine |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid |
| Position on the label | 17 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | 1.6-6.4 g a day |
| Strength of evidence | Mixed (exercise only) |
| Marketed or traditional use | Amino acid |
| Main caution | Harmless tingling at 800 mg or more, unlikely here. |
| Label name | GABA (Gamma amino butyric acid) |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid |
| Position on the label | 19 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | No verified dose source |
| Strength of evidence | Not established |
| Marketed or traditional use | Amino acid |
| Main caution | No verified safety source found. |
| Label name | L-Ornithine HCL |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid |
| Position on the label | 20 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | No verified dose source |
| Strength of evidence | Not established |
| Marketed or traditional use | Amino acid |
| Main caution | No verified safety source found. |
| Label name | L-Tryptophan |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid |
| Position on the label | 21 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | No blood sugar dose established |
| Strength of evidence | Not established |
| Marketed or traditional use | Amino acid |
| Main caution | Do not combine with MAOIs or other serotonin drugs without advice. |
| Label name | L-Carnitine Base |
|---|---|
| What it is | Amino acid derivative |
| Position on the label | 22 of 22 in the blend (listed from most to least by weight) |
| Amount per dropper | Not disclosed. Part of the 200 mg proprietary blend. |
| Amount used in research | 2-3 g a day (type 2 diabetes studies) |
| Strength of evidence | Some glucose improvement; more trials needed |
| Marketed or traditional use | Fat metabolism |
| Main caution | Fishy odor and stomach upset at about 3 g. |
FAQ
Amino acids in Olivaro: common questions
Can you take L-tryptophan with antidepressants?
Not without your doctor's advice. Drugs.com warns against mixing L-tryptophan with MAO inhibitors, tramadol and other serotonin-raising products. Olivaro lists L-tryptophan, so tell your prescriber about it before you start, whatever the dose.
Does L-carnitine help blood sugar?
Studies in type 2 diabetes used 2 to 3 grams a day and found some improvement in fasting glucose, but NIH says larger trials are needed. Olivaro lists carnitine last in a 200 mg blend, so 2 droppers hold about 18 mg a day at most.
Can L-arginine lower blood pressure?
Yes, and it may add to blood pressure drugs. Memorial Sloan Kettering also warns it may raise the risk of death after an acute heart attack. Olivaro's share is capped at 25 mg a day; still, mention it if you have heart disease.
Why was L-tryptophan banned in 1989?
An outbreak of eosinophilia-myalgia syndrome was linked to L-tryptophan supplements, affecting more than 1,500 people with 37 deaths. FDA issued a warning and recall in November 1989. Nearly all cases traced back to one manufacturer's products, which pointed to contamination.
Will the beta-alanine in Olivaro make me tingle?
Very unlikely. The harmless tingling tied to beta-alanine needs single doses of 800 mg or more. Beta-alanine sits 17th of 22 in a 200 mg blend, so each dropper holds about 12 mg at most.
Are amino acid supplements safe for diabetics?
It depends on the amino acid and your medicines. Tryptophan needs care with serotonin drugs, and arginine can lower blood pressure. For GABA, tyrosine and ornithine at Olivaro's amounts, we found no reliable data. Review the label with your doctor before starting.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
We start from the bottle label, then check every claim against government and peer-reviewed sources linked on the page.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by an authorized U.S. retailer, not by the manufacturer. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Olivaro
U.S. authorized Olivaro retailer
Ready to try Olivaro?
Choose 2, 3 or 6 bottles. At one dropper daily, even the smallest pack outlasts the 30-day use period required before a refund claim.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day money-back
- Ships from the U.S.



